This plaque commemorating the Great Russell Fire was added to the Historical Plaque Program in 2019, in partnership with the Russell and District Historical Society.

This plaque is located at 1150 Concession Street, Russell.

Carscadden Bridge and Carscadden Family

Carscadden Farm on Wade Road painted by Shirley VanDusen The Thomas Carscadden family were among the first settlers in Russell Township, coming from County Donegal, Ireland in 1846. They cleared the land with one cow and two oxen on Lot 6, Concession 4 on Wade Road near Route 400. They had a large family three sons and seven daughters. Their son John R. Carscadden became one of the best-known citizens in Russell County. With his brother Thomas, he operated a woolen mill at 71 Mill Street near Parallel Street just upstream of the bridge from 1881 to 1910.

The Woolen Mill

The woolen mill was constructed at this site was built by Sam Doran and Charlie Stark in 1875 and used waterpower from a timber and plank dam. The woolen mill dam, as it was called, was approximately six feet high and was used as a foot bridge to cross the river. By 1908 the mill was run by a wood burning (40 horsepower) steam engine.Woolen Mill in 1907

The mill was a large 3-storey wooden building with a basement which only operated in the summer months. Inside the basement was used for finishing, the first floor for carding and spinning, the second floor for weaving and the third for drying. A small shop was in the front of the building where blankets, yarn and other items, made in the mill, could be purchased.

For many years this was only woolen mill in Russell County with the farmers from far and wide would bring in their raw wool and return home with blankets and yarn. By the time World War 1 broke out, many farmers were no longer raising sheep and raw wool was becoming scarce. It was difficult to compete against the larger and more efficient mills.

The Carscadden Family

John Rae CarscaddenThomas Carscadden

There have been Carscadden family members living and working in Russell from 1846 until today. The Carscadden brothers, John Rae Carscadden (1849-1927) and Thomas Carscadden (1844-1916), operated the woolen mill from 1881 to 1910.

John Rae Carscadden was the only man from the Township of Russell to make the pages of a Canadian album published in 1896 entitled “Men of Canada or Success by Example”.

Family of John Rae CarscaddenIn his family photo from left to right, (back) Arthur, Eliza, from his marriage in 1873 to Susan Morrow (1848-1874) and (Front) from his second marriage to in 1880 Susan Fitzpatrick (1851-1916), Sadie, Harry (front), John.

The younger son of John Rae Carscadden, Harry Fraser Carscadden (1887-1958) stayed on the farm and married Ethel Kemp (1886-1973). They had three children: Willis, Gertrude and Frederick.

Harry Fraser Carscadden and Ethel Kemp on the bank of the Castor River in 1909

John's son, Frederick Lloyd Carscadden (1918-2011), remained on the family farm and married Mildred Audrey McKeown (1922-2011). They had four children: Nancy, Barry, Robert and Dale, as pictured below in the recent family photo.

Recent Carscadden Family Photo

Barry Carscadden farmed the old homestead until 1982 when he sold it, moved into Russell, and purchased the local hardware store from Ted Lehowski at the corner of Concession St. and Mill St. Below is an artwork of Barry's first hardware store, painted by Paul Schibli.Barry's first hardware store, painted by Paul Schibli

Barry married Heather Twiname and had two boys, Ken and Brian (photo below). Ken Carscadden is the current owner of Home Hardware stores in Russell and Embrun.

Submit a Plaque Suggestion

If you know of a person, place, event or object that you think may be of historical significance to the Township of Russell, please let us know!

Disclaimer

The plaque is intended for commemorative purposes and has no legal implications. It is not a designation under the Ontario Heritage Act.

Une plaque commémorant le pont Carscadden a été ajoutée au programme de plaques historiques en 2019, en partenariat avec la Russell and District Historical Society.

Cette plaque est située au 1150 rue Concession à Russell.

Le pont Carscadden et la famille Carscadden

Ferme Carscadden sur le chemin Wade peinturé par Shirley van DusenLa famille Thomas Carscadden était parmi les premiers habitants de la municipalité de Russell. Ils sont arrivés dans le Haut-Canada en provenance du comté irlandais de Donegal en 1846. Ils ont défriché la terre avec une vache et deux boeufs sur le lot 6, concession 4, sur le chemin Wade près de la route 400. Ils avaient une grande famille de trois fils et sept filles. Leur fils John R. Carscadden est devenu l'un des citoyens les plus connus dans la municipalité de Russell. Avec son frère Thomas, ils ont exploité un moulin à laine à 71 rue Mill près de la rue Parallel un peu en amont du pont de 1881 à 1910. La photo ci-dessous est le moulin à laine de 1907, du haut de l'Église méthodiste, regardant vers l'Ouest le long de la rivière Castor.

Le moulin à laine

Le moulin à laine sur ce site a été construit par Sam Doran et Charlie Stark en 1875 et utilisait l'énergie hydraulique d'un barrage en bois et en planches. Le barrage du moulin à laine, comme on l'appelait, avait une hauteur d'environ six pieds et servait de passerelle pour franchir la rivière. En 1908, le moulin était exploité par une machine à vapeur à bois (puissance de 40 chevaux).

Moulin à laine en 1907Le moulin était un grand bâtiment en bois de 3 étages avec un sous-sol qui n'opérait que pendant les mois d'été. L'intérieur du sous-sol était utilisé pour les finitions, le premier étage pour le cardage et la filature, le deuxième étage pour le tissage et le troisième pour le séchage. Un petit magasin était à l'avant où l'on pouvait acheter des couvertures, du fil et d'autres articles fabriqués au moulin.

Pendant de nombreuses années, c'était le seul moulin à laine de la municipalité de Russell. Les agriculteurs de partout apportaient leur laine brute et retournaient chez eux avec des couvertures et du fil. Au moment où la Première Guerre mondiale a éclaté, de nombreux agriculteurs n'élevaient plus de moutons et la laine brute se raréfiait. Il était difficile de rivaliser avec les usines plus grandes et plus efficaces.

La famille Carscadden

John Rae Carscadden (1849-1927)Thomas Carscadden (1844-1916)Des membres de la famille Carscadden vivent et travaillent à Russell de 1846 à nos jours. John Rae Carscadden (1849-1927) et Thomas Carscadden (1844-1916), ont exploité le moulin à laine de 1881 à 1910.

John Rae Carscadden est le seul homme de la municipalité de Russell à avoir réalisé les pages d'un album canadien publié en 1896 intitulé « Men of Canada ou Success by Example » (« Hommes du Canada, ou le succès par exemple »).

Famille de John Rae Carscadden

 Dans sa photo de famille, de gauche à droite : (arrière) Arthur et Eliza, de son mariage en 1873 avec Susan Morrow (1848-1874), et (avant) Sadie, Harry, John de son 2e mariage en 1880 à Susan Fitzpatrick (1851-1916).

Le fils cadet de John Rae Carscadden, Harry Fraser Carscadden (1887-1958), resta à la ferme et épousa Ethel Kemp (1886-1973). Ils ont eu trois enfants: Willis, Gertrude et Frederick.

Harry Fraser Carscadden et Ethel Kemp sur la banque de la rivière Castor en 1909

Le fils de John, Frederick Lloyd Carscadden (1918-2011), est resté sur la ferme familiale et s'est marié avec Mildred Audrey McKeown (1922-2011). Ils ont eu quatre enfants: Nancy, Barry, Robert et Dale, comme dans la photo de famille récente.

Photo de famille récente

Barry Carscadden a exploité la vieille ferme jusqu'en 1982, lorsqu'il l'a vendue, s'est installé à Russell et a acheté la quincaillerie locale à Ted Lehowski, au coin des rues Concession et Mill. Ci-dessous, une illustration de la première quincaillerie de Barry, peinte par Paul Schibli.

première quincaillerie de Barry, peinte par Paul Schibli.

Barry a épousé Heather Twiname et a eu deux garçons, Ken et Brian. Ken Carscadden est devenu propriétaire des magasins Home Hardware à Russell et à Embrun.

Soumettre une suggestion de plaque

Si vous connaissez une personne, un lieu, un événement ou un objet qui, selon vous, pourrait avoir une importance historique pour la municipalité de Russell, faites-le-nous savoir!

Décharge de responsabilité

La plaque est destinée à des fins commémoratives et n'a aucune implication juridique. Elle n'est pas une désignation en vertu de la loi sur le patrimoine de l'Ontario.