Official election results available below!

Read our FAQ on election signs.

Municipal Elections take place every 4 years.

Municipal Election 2022

The Municipal Election 2022 is October 24, 2022.

Person putting their vote into a ballot box
Voting Information

Find information to vote on October 19 to 24, 2022.

Person addressing a crowd through a microphone
Candidate Information

Running in the municipal election?

Third Party Advertising

Learn the rules for being a third-party advertiser.

Official Results — 2022 Municipal Elections


Leroux, Pierre



Armstrong, Charles


Baas, Tony


Deacon, Lisa


Greer, Eric


Lalonde, Marc


Laurin, Jamie


Tarnowski, Mike

Police Village of Russell Trustee

Duern Bankley, Julianne


Dyer, Dave


MacMillan, Stephanie


Miller, Mike


St-Jean, Denise

Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l'Est ontarien

Héroux, Jacques


Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario

Wilson, Sue


Upper Canada District School Board

Parisien, Corina 


Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est de l’Ontario

Tessier, Pierre 


Accessibility During an Election

The Township of Russell has made great efforts in promoting a barrier free community. The 2022 Municipal Election Accessibility Plan was prepared in order to ensure that the 2022 Municipal Election is consistent with the core principles of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005. Request a copy of the 2022 Municipal Election Accessibility Plan by contacting the Clerk's Elections Office.

Additional Information

If you can't find the information you are looking for on our elections webpages, you can also find additional information in the 2022 Voters’ Guide for Ontario municipal council and school board elections.

Key Dates for the 2022 Municipal Election
Date Action
May 2, 2022 Nomination and registration periods begin for the Offices of Mayor, Councillor, School Board Trustee, Police Village of Russell Trustee until August 19 at 2:00p.m. and as Registered Third Party until October 21

August 19, 2022

  • Deadline for candidates to ​file a nomination (9:00a.m. to 2:00 pm) or withdraw a nomination (before 2:00p.m.)
  • Lame Duck Period (Restricted Acts for Council) begins

August 22, 2022

  • Clerk to certify candidate nomination papers (by 4:00p.m.)
  • Candidates elected by Acclamation to be declared (after 4:00p.m.) 

September 1, 2022

  • Voters' List to be reproduced and available to certified candidates by request
  • A person may submit an application to have their name added to or removed from the Voters' List until Voting Day

September 15 to September 26, 2022

  • ​Interim list of changes to Voters' List provided to certified candidates by request and revisions continue

September 24, 2022

First day to post election campaign signs (must adhere to the Sign By-law in effect)

September 26, 2022

Last day to provide to Certified Candidates:

  • Final certificate of applicable maximum expenses
  • Certificate of applicable maximum amount of contributions to a candidate's own election campaign
  • Certificate of applicable maximum amount for parties, etc., after voting day

Last day to provide to Registered Third Parties:

  • Certificate of applicable maximum expenses
  • Certificate of applicable maximum amount for parties, etc. after voting day

October 1, 2022

Last day for Council to establish a Compliance Audit Committee for the 2022-2026 term of office

October 21, 2022

​Last day to register as a third party advertiser
October 19 to 24, 2022

Election Period

October 24, 2022

Election Day (voting places open 10:00a.m. to 8:00p.m.)

October 25, 2022

Declare as soon as possible the results and provide information to the public on the number of votes, declined and rejected ballots

November 15, 2022

New term of office commences until November 14, 2026

November 21, 2022

Inaugural and 1st Regular Council Meeting

January 3, 2023

End of election campaign period for candidates and registered third parties

March 31, 2023

Deadline for candidates and registered third parties to file their initial financial statements and auditor’s reports (by 2:00 p.m.)