The Township of Russell finds itself located on Iroquois (Haudeasaunee), Algonquin (Anishinabewaki and Omàmìwininìwag) and Mohawk (Kanienʼkehá꞉ka) traditional and unceded territory.

In 2022, the Township of Russell began offering an Indigenous Land Acknowledgement Statement at the beginning of each Council and Committee meeting.

Acknowledgement Statement 

We acknowledge that we are on the traditional and unceded territory of the Anishinababe, and the Huron-Wendat peoples. We acknowledge our shared obligation to respect, honour and sustain these lands and the natural resources contained within.

This statement was formed by the Community, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee. The Township recognizes that many terms may be preferred over others, and that preferred terms can change over time. The Township's practice will be to honour Indigenous Peoples in our community with the terms they wish to be identified.

What is a Land Acknowledgement?

Territorial Land Acknowledgment shows recognition of and respect for Aboriginal Peoples.

Acknowledging the land is an Indigenous protocol used to express gratitude to those who reside here, and to honour the Indigenous people who have lived and worked on this land historically and presently.

Strengthening relations between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Canadians is important to municipal governments and their residents across Ontario.

Traditional Territory

First Nations territories do not typically align to provincial and municipal demarcations and normally overlap each other. This is the case with the Township of Russell, which finds itself located on Iroquois (Haudeasaunee), Algonquin (Anishinabewaki and Omàmìwininìwag), and Mohawk (Kanienʼkehá꞉ka) traditional and unceded territory.

A map of the First Nations lands where our Township is located is on the Native Land website.